clientversions

Rolling out Notes 9.0.1 Client – Client Versions

I recently upgraded our Domino server to 9.0.1 (which went flawlessly) and I began pushing out the Notes 9.0.1 client to my users. We create several new users a month and I realized today that I forgot to change the registration policy, that we use for registering new users, to incorporate the mail9.ntf template. I needed to find a way within Domino to easily see what users are running the new client.

A quick Google search revealed this link Determining a user’s Notes client version from IBM. The link showed a view in the names.nsf for By Client Version

Accessing the by Client Version view

    1. From the Domino Administrator, click the Files tab.
    2. Open the Domino Directory, NAMES.NSF.
    3. Click People – by Client Version.

This view was helpful; however, it showed every version that every user had ever used since they were added to the NAB. I needed a way to view each user by the current version of the notes client they were running. Thanks to more results from Google and Vlad Tatarincevs I found this blog post: Display only Last Version of Lotus Notes Client

Here are the steps I used based on the info from Vlad’s blog post:

    1. Open names.nsf from Server
    2. From the Create menu at the top select View… (I wanted to create a new view instead of changing the existing one)
    3. I gave the view a name, selected the view type (in this case I selected shared so other people could use it as well), selected a location for the new view, selected Copy From By Client Version, and then I clicked Save and CustomizeCapture
    4. Under the Client Version (Column) section, which should be selected by default when you arrive in customize view, change it from Field to Formula and copy this formula from Vlad’s blog post: n:= @Member(@Text(@Max(Clntdate)); @Text(Clntdate)); 
      @Subset(@Subset(cLntBLD; n);-1)
    5. Capture1

    6. Save the view and open it from your names.nsf People view at the bottom.

Now each use will show only once with the latest version that they were setup on.

NOTE: The only caveat to this view is that if a user installed 9.0.1 but then downgraded back to 8.5.3 it would still show 9.0.1 as the latest version. In my case I knew that the users under 9.0.1 were legitimately running 9.0.1 because we just started rolling it out. Just something to keep in mind.